New Spread of Monkeypox as Minister Confirms Six New Cases in Akwa Ibom, Enugu, FCT and Bayelsa


Six additional cases of monkeypox have been confirmed at the laboratory according to the minister of State for Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire who made the announcement in his office on Friday in Abuja.

Among the six cases, two each in Bayelsa and Akwa Ibom States have been confirmed. The others are in Enugu and the Federal Capital Territory raising the number of monkeypox cases confirmed in Nigeria to nine.

Dr. Osagie said investigations were ongoing to check if any of the new cases had a link with the Bayelsa cluster, where the outbreak began.

“A national-level Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) led by the NCDC with support from our development partners is coordinating outbreak investigation and response across affected states,” he assured.

He further explained that further measures of sensitization have been employed to ensure Nigerians are kept at bay to avoid contacting the disease.

“Risk communication activities have been heightened to advise the public as well as healthcare workers on preventive measures. A nationwide communications campaign has begun, to inform Nigerians of key preventive measures to take to curtail the further spread of monkeypox.”

Nigerians are advised to always wash hands with soap and water after contact with animals, when caring for sick relatives, or managing soiled beddings.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.