Coalition of Akwa Ibom Online Publishers Holds General Assembly, Swears-in Pioneer Exco


The General Assembly of the Coalition of Online Publishers in Akwa Ibom State (COOPA) was held on Saturday, July 20, 2019 at the RootHub, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Chaired by the Chancellor, Mr Ifreke Nseowo, the meeting had in attendance existing and intending members who witnessed the Swearing-In of the first executive council and management committee of the association, led by Deputy Chancellor, Aniekan Ekah poised to chart a course for the association.

Other issues deliberated upon on the floor of the house were Membership Registration and a New Media Symposium planned for September 2019.

The newly appointed exco members

The house received in audience aspirants for different offices to the state exco of the NUJ in the August 2 election.

Also present were veteran journalists and patrons, former Chairman of Nigerian Union of Journalists, Akwa Ibom State Chapter, Mr Isreal Umoh and former Encomium Magazine editor and Secretary of PDP Governor’s Forum, Mr Patrick Okon.

The newly appointed exco comprises of; Deputy Chancellor – Mr Aniekan Ekah (Chairman, Management Committee), Assistant Secretary – Lady Udeme Utip, Treasurer – Mr Prince Simeon. Others are PRO – Mr Sam Ayara, Provost – Mr Eric Ekwere and Financial Secretary – Mr Utitofon Morgan

It also has Engr. Solomon Eyo – SA ICT to Governor, Mr Aniekeme Finbarr – SA New Media to Governor, Mr Emmanuel Sam – SA Local Media to Governor, Mr Darlington Udobong – SA Media to Speaker, AKHA and Akparawa Bokime Asuquo – SA Media to Commissioner for Economic Development as Ex Officios.

The Chancellor charged them to bring their expertise as pioneer exco members to draw a blue print and assist the group to forge ahead as the apex body of new media practitioners in the State.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.