Senator Ahmed Lawan Emerges President of Nigeria’s 9th Senate Assembly

The Senator representing Yobe North constituency, Ahmed Lawan, has emerged the Senate President of the ninth National Assembly.

The Election of Senate President was held at the first session of the Senate on Tuesday, after a nomination was moved in a motion by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and seconded by Adeola Olamilaken of Lagos West.

Senator Lawan polled 79 votes, defeating Ali Ndume with 28 votes, as 107 senators had cast their votes.

The result of the poll was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, who immediately sworn-in Senator Lawan as the Senate President.

Senator Ahmed Lawan

“It is my pleasure to announce that Senator elect, Ahmed Lawan, having scored the highest number of total votes cast is hereby returned duly elected as Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” he said.

Mr Lawan, is a former Senate Leader and was the favoured candidate of the All Progressives Congress(APC).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.