President Buhari Orders Reopening of Borders


The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency, President Mohammed Buhari, has ordered for the reopening of some of the major borders around the country.

This announcement was made by the Minuster of Finance, Zainab Ahmed at the end of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting on Wednesday, 16th of December, 2020.

While four borders are to be immediately reopened, “the ban on importation of rice, poultry and other banned products still subsists and will be implemented by the border patrol team”, she stated.

The four borders to be reopened are Seme in the South-west, Ilela in the North-west, Maitagari in the North-west and Mfun in the South-south. According to reports, the remaining borders would be reopened on or before 31st December 2020. 

President Buhari had commenced the closure of the nation’s borders last year and announced that the closure of the borders was due to smuggling activities, as the government sought to control the influx of drugs and weapons into the country and control the illegal export of fuel and petroleum products out of the country.

The reopening of the border comes as a relief to many who believe that the current recession being experienced by the nation would be eased with the end of the border closure. 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.