Nigeria to Travel: US Warns Citizens, Highlights High Risk Zones.


In an updated travel warning to its citizens, the U.S Department of State warns U.S. has declared some states of Nigeria as unsafe for entry.

These locations include Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Kano, and Yobe states considering the Boko Haram insurgency which has displaced hundreds of thousands in the north-eastern region of the country.

Others are Bayelsa, Delta, Jigawa, Kaduna, Katsina, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, and Zamfara states due to the kidnappings, robberies, and other armed attacks in these regions.

Therefore the U.S. Department of State thereby recommends trips to the listed areas be avoided, except essential, as poor transportation infrastructure has made it difficult for the U.S. Mission to provide consular services in these states.

All U.S. citizens are advised to have evacuation plans that do not solely rely on U.S. government assistance.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.