Manchester United dominate Nominees for Premier League Young Player of the Season Award


Manchester United attackers Marcus Rashford, Mason Greenwood and Anthony Martial have all been named on the shortlist for the inaugural TAG Heuer Young Player of the Season Award.

The award, which is for players who were aged 23 or under at the start of the 2019-20 season, will be voted for by fans.

Martial who turns 25 later this year was still included. The Frenchman scored 17 league goals this season, with Rashford matching that tally. Greenwood, meanwhile, scored on ten occasions.


Full List of Nominees

Trent Alexander-Arnold (age 21) – Liverpool

Jack Grealish (age 24) – Aston Villa

Mason Greenwood (age 18) – Manchester United

Dean Henderson (age 23) – Sheffield United

Anthony Martial (age 24) – Manchester United

Mason Mount (age 21) – Chelsea

Christian Pulisic (age 21) – Chelsea

Marcus Rashford (age 22) – Manchester United 


Here Are Five Notable Absentees

Bukayo Saka (age 18) – Arsenal 

Tammy Abraham (age 22) – Chelsea

Declan Rice (age 21) – West Ham

Reece James (age 20) – Chelsea

Dwight McNeil (age 20) – Burnley


Trent Alexander-Arnold, played a key role as Liverpool ended their 30-year wait for a league title, and is tipped as the favourite to land the award. In addition to his defensive duties, the right-back provided 13 assists.

Chelsea duo Christian Pulisic and Mason Mount have also earn nominations for the prize. Pulisic caught the eye in the closing stages of the campaign especially, while Mount impressed in his first season in the Premier League.

Aston Villa captain Jack Grealish, scored eight goals and provided six assists as his side preserved their Premier League status, thereby earning a spot on the list of nominees.

One shock omission from the list though, is Bukayo Saka, with the Arsenal starlet failing to make the cut despite an impressive breakthrough campaign with the gunners.

Chelsea’s Tammy Abraham scored 15 Premier League goals but still did not make the cut. Fans have until 6pm of August 10 to cast their votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.