74 Political Parties De-Registered by INEC

Nigeria’s electoral umpire, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has de-registered 74 political parties.

This was announced during a press briefing on Thursday at the Commission’s Conference Hall INEC Headquarters, Abuja.

Prior to this move, there were 91 political parties in Nigeria, bringing the number to 18 registered political parties in the country.

The commission came to a conclusion review of the 209 general elections and in its reason for the exercise stated that the de-registered “75 political parties did not satisfy the requirements of the Fourth Alteration to the Constitution. However, one of the political parties, the APP filed a suit in court and obtained an order restraining the Commission from deregistering it.

This de-registering is backed by section 225A of the constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria, 1999 ( fourth alteration No.9), Act 2017.

See list of de-registered parties below:


See list of the 18 Parties below.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.