Lassa Fever: NMA Disagrees With Minister For Health.

The South-South/South-East Zonal Meeting of the Nigerian Medical Association –NMA has ended in Uyo with several observations and resolutions.

Top of the resolution as contained in a communiqué is the rejection of statement credited to the minister of health, Professor Isaac Adewole that medical doctors who died while treating Lassa fever patients were being careless.

The communiqué jointly signed by Doctor Aniekeme Uwah, the chairman, NMA South-South Zone and Doctor Cajetan Onyedum, chairman South-East zone of the association urged the minister to appreciate health workers who are regularly exposed to the risk of infection while discharging their duties because of inadequate or lack basic protective gears and facilities.

The Association also advocated for increased awareness on the epidemics plaguing the Zones, notably Monkey Pox and Lassa fever by the federal Government while also advocating for a decentralized infection prevention and control (IPC) and disaster relief preparedness and response plan.

The south south/south east caucus also requested that the federal government should as a matter of urgent national importance, reconstitute the board of Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria, MDCN.

The South-South and South-East doctors congratulated Dr Peter Odili, former Governor of Rivers on the establishment of Nigeria’s first private medical university

While also appreciating the governor of Delta State, Dr Ifeanyi Okowa for implementing skipping allowances for all doctors in Delta State.  The association urged other Governors to emulate the gesture by the Delta State Government.

The meeting was attended by National Officers of the association, and state working committee members from all states of the South South and South East zones of the NMA.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *